Tags

, , , , , , ,

(Sorry for the weird photo stretching, I hosted these on photobucket to save time and space.)

I had a little extra time today after work, so I spent an hour or so walking around the rural cemetery. I had my camera on me so I took a few (uh…. 40 >.>) pictures and learned some interesting things about the cemetery.

This particular cemetery is 7.3 acres right smack dab in the middle of town. Its behind the Catholic cemetery (I prefer the rural cemetery because its wilder, even though I have relatives in the Catholic cemetery), the hospital, and most of the “medical row”. I get chemo a block or two over from it. Unless you want to deal with the hospital’s emergency room and occasional ambulances, it’s far easier to go down a little side road. First thing you see is a large church (it’s a working cemetery, even if I tend to stay in the older portions) and a small white iron gate. I tend to park right in the middle by the head office because it has marked parking spaces. I always feel guilty parking in the cemetery on the little roads because I’m scared of blocking off other people, or pulling over too far and running over graves o.o

Photobucket

This is the awesome wooden cross for one Nathan Strong. This graveyard has woodpeckers that love hiding acorns and pecans in EVERYTHING. Close up the cross is like Swiss cheese. He tends to get a lot of candles; the second step from the cross is covered in wax drippings.

Photobucket

Bit of a panorama shot, pointed towards the “new” area. There are a lot of different trees and bushes, including a cool tree called an Osage orange which makes green nubbly fruit that squish out an awesomely mint green goo-juice. I stole a few fruits from the ground and I’m hoping they sprout!

Photobucket

The little tiny bird just about dead center is a hummingbird, who sang lovely little warsongs to me as I walked along the gravel road.

I was going to go take a picture of the Queen’s Oak (awesome old tree just about as big as the King’s Oak across the road from me) but I was sidetracked in (what I later learned) “Babyland”- the section where they bury infants and young children. I picked up several palm fronds off of the graves and toted them over to a pile of similar trash on the side of the road for the maintenance guys to pick up. I also found a busted water pipe too (hardly surprising with the hard freezes we’ve been having). I traipsed all the way back to the office to report it, and decided that since I was there I might as well go the other way.

Photobucket

I sit under the umbrella-shaped bush and feed the dead. (I also may have stalked the bluejay sitting on the monument behind it >.> ) They really like egg custard tartlets from the Chinese bakery 😀

Photobucket

Awesome tree and the Boggs family pseudo-boulder monuments. This is one of my favorite photos out of the whole batch.

Photobucket

Another awesome tree, with a big hollow in the trunk. I wonder what you would find if you looked inside the hollow….

Photobucket

The Blossom grouping. One of my favorite ones. They even gave me a gift- a handful of tiny grey flight feathers, soft and lovely. Some of them are tipped in bright yellow.

Photobucket

Baron’s Chateau. I just realized what that palm tree looks like today XD

Photobucket

Close up of the Chateau. It even has a sidewalk going around it. Very awesome. (Can you tell why I think Baron lives there?)

Photobucket

The leaves are deep in places XD

Photobucket

I’ve left chocolate here for Brother before, and the tree that holds him.

Photobucket

A shot of Mausoleum Row. They’re spotted all over the older section but this area has its own little road and grass area. I found another busted water pipe, but this time I waited until I got back to my car to report it.

Photobucket

One of my verymostfavorite mausoleum doors.

Photobucket

I’m not gonna lie- I saw a black dog coming at me in a graveyard and jumped a bit. Then I realized it was a ChowChow, which is quite possibly the least threatening-looking dog breed I’ve ever met. She wouldn’t stay still for a picture so here’s a picture of her butt. I was a little worried until her people came along behind her. Apparently she really is a graveyard dog. She used to live in the graveyard until her people got her used to them, to the point of taking her home with them. They bring her back to visit from time to time. She certainly acted like she had places to go and people to meet.

One of these days I will have to take pictures of the cremated remains building and the half-a-rotunda, and the neat rows of war veterans, and the Baby’s Field, and all the other amazing things I find (according to a person I know, escaped parrots live in this graveyard O.o). I thought this was an acceptable beginning, at least. Next graveyard on my list is a little pocket one up the street that needs some love (and 90% dark chocolate).

